Archive for February 9th, 2009

09
Feb
09

kdizo vs. m. phelps controversy

Since people are still talking about M. Phelps…

I spoke on the subject to a group of students at MLK High School (Chi) today.  Here are some excerpts:

On M. Phelps’ Diet: Have you read about what, and how much, this dude eats??? Check out homeboy’s 12K calorie a day diet:

Breakfast: Three fried-egg sandwiches loaded with cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, fried onions and mayonnaise. Two cups of coffee. One five-egg omelet. One bowl of grits. Three slices of French toast topped with powdered sugar. Three chocolate-chip pancakes.
Lunch: One pound of enriched pasta. Two large ham and cheese sandwiches with mayo on white bread. Energy drinks packing 1,000 calories.
Dinner: One pound of pasta. An entire pizza. More energy drinks.

After I read this I knew right away this mf smoked weed. And alot of it.

On Kellogs: So they drop sponsorship of Phelps because, like the late O.D.B & the Wu-Tang Clan they are, “for the kids”… Please.  Kellogs: Sugar Frosted Flakes, Coco Crispies, Fruit Loops, Rice Krispy Treats… “For the kids”??? STFU!!!

On Role Models: Athletes and entertainers ARE NOT role models. We have an unhealthy tendency to prop-up or deify people that are great at one got-damn thing (sports/entertainment). We uncritically assume that they are great at everything.  And history shows that whenever we want someone to be infallible or perfect or aspirational, it never quite works out. When you think about it, athletes and entertainers are in essence fictional characters.  If that’s how you wanna role, why not have cartoon characters as role models? They don’t f’up nearly as much as real people. Anyhoot, role models – the people we want to shape our kids – should be parents, family, friends or at least somebody that you really really know.

The War on Drugs Didn’t Work: Another reason I’m not surprised that Michael sparks(tokes)… Weed/drugs are more pervasive than ever. Especially w/ in Well-to-do White communities. I grew up in the hood and the only shit I was ever exposed to was weed, malt liquor (Shlizt, Champale, etc.) and cheap wine (TJ Swan). Think about the movie Cooley High as a point of reference in terms of inner-city drug activity.  I went to High School in the burbs – w/ wealthy White kids… Have you seen that flick Less Than Zero? Yeah. That’s exactly what it was like. Talk about drugs: weed (various kinds), hash, cocaine, acid, opium, whip-its, moonshine and all the accoutrements: scales, bongs, pipes, filters… I was shocked. I had absolutely no idea.  And the worst thing about – a lot of the drug related activity was going on w/ parental consent.

I remember being at one party in the wealthy suburb of River Hills, WI.  The Fall of ’88.  A whole bunch high school juniors and seniors, NWA, Mc Hammer, Ton Loc, REM, The Cure… Some Less Than Zero shit… All of a sudden the party host’s father angrily bursts thru the door into the large kitchen where the majority of us were partying.

Silence and smoke.

Now, I’m the only black dude there. And I’m high(from contact). So I’m freakin’ out, about to jump over the kitchen sink and out the window because I’m thinking to myself, “shit this mf ’bout to call the cops on my black ass…”

So as I’m visually mapping my way through the crowd over the sink and out the window, the father starts yelling and screaming. Now I can’t quite make out what he is saying because a voice inside my head is like, “Now!!! Run nigga, run!!!

I shake my head to silence the voice and gather myself. Then I’m able to make out what the father is saying. Get this.  He says to his son, the party host, “I don’t ever want to have to tell you again about doing drugs IN MY HOUSE!!!”

I’m thinking to myself, “WTF??? In your house? You don’t want us to do drugs – in your house. You mean it’s okay for us to do drugs – outside – in your yard???”

I was shocked. At that point I’d had enuff. I was confused. I didn’t feel safe. I immediately went home after that – too the familiar surroundings of the hood. True story. On my G.

On a Beat Down: Michael needs to find out who took and leaked the now infamous photo and “handle that”.




February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728